Maintenance of Certification logo

MOC Program

The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification program promotes lifelong learning and the enhancement of the clinical judgment and skills that are essential for high-quality patient care. ASCO supports these principles by providing its members with a variety of opportunities to efficiently earn MOC points for CME accredited activites.

ABIM Extends Deadlines

Any physician who is currently certified and has a Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requirement due in 2020—including an assessment, point requirement, or attestation—will now have until the end of 2021 to complete it. Physicians currently in their grace year will also be afforded an additional grace year in 2021. Visit ABIM for more updates.

Understanding MOC Requirements

Please visit the ABIM's Maintenance of Certification (MOC) page to learn more about MOC requirements and procedures for certification.

To check on your certification status, visit the ABIM Physician Portal.

For the latest new and information from the ABIM, including updates about the MOC program, visit

Earn MOC Points through ASCO

Learn more about CME that earns MOC points

ASCO offers MOC points for many CME accredited educational activities throughout the year. Learn more about each of our opportunities, the amount of MOC points available for each activity, and ways to participate:

Visit the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education's CME Finder and select the American Society of Clinical Oncology as the Provider for a full listing of ASCO CME activities that offer MOC points.


Please contact for more information.